Eye on photography

I am currently taking a photography class and I’ve learned a lot about aperture settings and depth of field and shutter speed but not until this weekend did I learn much about my camera!  I’m currently shooting with a Canon Rebel T3i.  I am like a total photography virgin.  I’ve been playing around with Photoshop for a few years editing the mediocre pictures I’ve taken over the years or making collages.  But I’ve never had a camera this expensive or one that took such quality pictures.  But I’m wondering now if it’s because I never took the time to READ.

I bought this book. Canon EOS Rebel T3i/600D Field Guide by Charlotte Lowrie and it has become my Canon Bible!

I spent most of the day Saturday reading it and I have learned SO much about my camera, which has made me fall even more in love.  I’ve also been trolling sites like Digital Photography School and Camille Styles getting stellar photography tips and tricks.

In two short days and two weeks of photography classes I’m taking pictures like this:

Now, granted I have some beautiful subjects (biased mama 😉 ) but I am amazed at how good these photographs came out on my first try.  The first one is really my favorite not only because I caught her mid-giggle but because it was taken INDOORS, under a crappy ceiling fan light with NO FLASH.  Swear to God.  I had the camera in manual mode with a shutter speed of 1/30 and it was like magic!

The sepia tone of my son is funny because he was in the middle of playing outside and was highly annoyed because I kept asking him to pose.  In the past, I would take pictures and then download them to Photoshop to add sepia or black and white filters.  But I took this directly from the camera!  The last one is just a shot of baby girl in the backyard as the sun was setting.  She is always the perfect model because she LOVES to take pictures.

I am so proud of myself and I know I have a long way to go but I look forward to learning to take amazing photographs and chronicling my children’s lives as they are growing up. . .much too fast!

MzM

Leave a Reply

