Stuff

I can’t believe how fast this week has flown by!  I told you the time was going to go by crazy fast!  It just seems there is not enough time in the day.  That sounds really crazy coming from someone unemployed. Ha! You would think I have nothing but time but after I drop off the kids (between 7:45 and 8:10) the day is truly a blur of graphic design work, cleaning out closets and preparing dinner and before you know it, it’s 4:45 and I have to jump in the shower (don’t judge me) and run to pick up the kids.

Time flies by doubly (is that a word?) fast when things aren’t going the way you want them to. . .I’m working on a website that has the potential to be seen by many, many people and although it’s technically a collaborative effort between myself and two good friends, I feel like the design aspect falls squarely on my shoulders and any criticism that comes along with it will also fall on my shoulders.  I just want it to be really, really, really nice.  Something that surprises people and makes them smile and go, “not bad, not bad at all.”  I’m realizing now that the design alone cannot do this. . .the content is going to have to be the biggest draw.  Because let’s be honest, no matter how great a site looks aesthetically, if there is nothing of interest on the site people won’t come back.  So, I’m trying to take the self inflicted pressure off of me to design some super site and focus on doing what I can to make sure our content brings readers back for more.  It’s hard though because I’m a bit anal-retentive about stuff like that.

To get my mind off of that website, I dove into another one. . . my own personal site.  When the collabo site is done, I will also be finishing up another client site and starting one right after that, so I will have more than enough examples to put in my portfolio and I will feel better about starting to promote myself.  Here is preview of my Home page for my personal design site:

Coming Soon. . .

I wanted something clean and simple that incorporated my favorite color, purple, but still looked professional.  I created the logo (obviously) and the icon boxes.  I’m thinking of launching August 1st . . . I have a ton of stuff to do between now and then and I just hope I can calm down a little and continue to pace myself before I burnout and end up sitting on the couch watching HGTV all day to avoid turning on the computer!

By the way, I can’t believe that I haven’t missed Pinterest at all.  I seriously have not even been on the site since I deleted my account.  Now, let me say this- Pinterest is a wonderful and amazing site!  I have NOTHING against Pinterest and I think it provides a great exchange of ideas and inspiration.  I also think it is a very creative way for businesses to engage their customers.  But for someone like me who is in the middle of three creative projects and is constantly looking for inspiration- it was a GINORMOUS distraction!  I found myself searching and pinning more personal stuff than necessary and totally forgetting my goal of finding fonts and design ideas.  So, I’m back to doing things the old fashioned way: GOOGLE.  I Google what I want, get the results I need and I’m good.  No additional stuff for my wandering eyes and unfocused mind. I totally sound like a crazy person, don’t I?  Oh well, I guess there is no fooling the Internet.

Ciao,

MzM

One comment

  1. Renee S. · · Reply

    Hey phenomenal mama! Glad to see you’re back to blogging! Sounds like you have some big things coming soon. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

