Consistency

Consistency is my constant goal. Oh, the irony. I’m trying to make sure I remain consistent with everything I commit myself to these days.  It is VERY challenging because some days I just want to throw in the towel.  But I know that’s not an option.  Sometimes I think how great it would be to just sleep late and wake up and not really do much and just have a totally carefree day.  Like I said, I “think” of what it would be like but I know in reality it would drive me crazy!  By nature, I think I’m just a busy body.  One of those people who just have to be doing something!  I’m just thankful that right now it’s stuff that I love!

Yesterday was baby girl’s first day at ballet/tap “camp”.  I use the word “camp” loosely because it’s only one day a week and it’s like 45 minutes to an hour.  But that’s how they promote it- as a camp.  She did an awesome job!  She was the best student in the class, paying attention and following directions the entire time.  Of course there was the occasional wave at me through the window on the outside of the class where all of the parents were sequestered.  Other than that, just perfect!

Beautiful Ballerina

My son was killing me because he tagged along and was taking pictures of her on his Nintendo 3DS and making slideshows! Ha!  Such a proud big brother.  I put together the collage picture above using the Pic Stitch app and then put a filter on it in Instagram.  But of course I whipped out the Canon and took these:

Bright eyes, big smile. On our way to ballet camp.

She wanted a profile picture, so you could see her bun.

Took this through the glass window. Parents werent allowed inside. Grrr.

I could be all day adding pictures but I’ll stop here. They didn’t allow parents in the room because we would be a distraction. True. . .but I still would’ve loved the opportunity to pop my head in at least once for a great shot! But I hope to really get some amazing shots before the class is over now that I know the secret to getting good shots it pressing your lens flush against the glass window. Speaking of lenses these were taken with my new telephoto lens (75-300mm).  I think I’m going to start collecting cans and selling stuff on eBay to get that Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 L IS USM macro lens.  OMG.  It’s amazing.  I got to experience it when I was taking my photography class, the professor had one and brought it in for us to see.  That puppy costs more than the camera!!  But I think in the long run depending how far I plan on taking this little “hobby” it might be worth it.  I have to admit I stopped reading my Canon book but I think this weekend, I’m going to pick it back up and get in some more practice shots.  I need to find a better finishing process than Photoshop.  I mean it’s okay but often times I find myself opening Photoshop to edit a photo I’ve taken and it looks better straight off the camera than it does when I try to adjust the levels but I’m still not 100% satisfied.

I don’t want to get accustomed to just shooting outdoor photo’s because it’s easier with respect to lighting issues, I want to be able to take great shots every time I pick up my camera!  I’m not trying to be a professional photographer but there may be a time or two that I need to provide an original photo or profile photo for one of my website clients and I just think it would be a great service to offer. One stop shopping!

Well, it’s the third day of summer for us and it is 10:23am CST as I type this and both my kids are still asleep!  YESSSS!  I’ve been up for almost two hours and got a ton of stuff done already.  So when they wake up they can have my undivided attention. . .for the most part.  Make it a great day!

MzM

Leave a Reply

