Best Laid Plans

Today we were supposed to go to the park and play in the splash pad for a couple of hours in the morning before the heat became unbearable, then we were going to have a picnic, and then we were going to watch movie about a fish who turns into a real girl at the museum.  What can I say, I’m ambitious.

We ended up doing one out of the three!  I was so proud of myself for getting all of our stuff together the night before including making sack lunches and then I woke up early and got the kids ready and we were out of the house by 9:30am.  Keep in mind the kids normally sleep until 11am.  It wasn’t pretty.

To add insult to injury we get to the park and  apparently there was a maintenance issue so the splash pad was CLOSED! But the kids weren’t deterred, they saw a park and swings and a jungle gym and were in heaven. They played until the sun came out and started to suffocate us.  Being the good mother that I am, I forgot the water and juices in the car.  So, we walked back to the car to get hydrated and determine our next move since we still had some time before the museum movie.

The kids decided they wanted to go back in the heat and run up and down the huge hill near the amphitheater.  Yay (she said in the most sarcastic voice ever).  I guess when I was their age I was a bit detached from reality too and didn’t think 99 degrees was too hot to be running around outside up and down a hill!

Lately, I look for every opportunity to take pictures but the weather was brutal, so my camera didn’t come out of the backpack much because I was too busy looking for shade!

After they decided (with a little encouragement from me) that they’d had enough of the hill, we went to the car to eat lunch.  The third row seats were laid flat, so they had a picnic in the back while I munched on my roasted chicken and avocado sandwich up front listening to Emile Sande on the radio.  Oh, I should mention I had the air cranked down to 67 degrees burning all kinds of gas!

After lunch, we decided to head to the museum. Turns out there was no movie showing about a fish who turns into a girl.  Not today or ever.  Wrong schedule or wrong museum, I’m still not sure.  So we held up the line while trying to determine to tour or not to tour.  We toured and the museum is not cheap!  They charged my 3-year-old admission and she was totally not impressed with the Hall of Paleontology at all.  My son on the other hand was loving every minute of the fossil and dinosaur exploration.  I was just grateful for air conditioning.

I could tell my daughter was on the verge of a pre-nap meltdown, so we took a potty break and high tailed it out of there.  It seems like we were there all day but from the time we left our house and returned home only 4 1/2 hours had passed.  I downloaded some pictures and I am pretending to work because now the kids are begging me to go to the pool. What the?  It’s never ending with these little sun worshippers!  I think we’ll head up to the pool around 7:00pm after the sun has gone down. . .it closes at 8:00pm, so that would also be a sure fire way to get them to leave. Geez.  Well, I guess I can only pretend to be doing something important online before they come back and give me the double pitiful faces. . .so I guess we’re off to the pool.

Here are some pictures from our adventure today:

The splash pad. Dry as a bone.

Hanging in there.

Sun? What sun?

Serious tire swing debate.

Running up (and down) that hill.

Dino Flintstone.

Keep cool.  Stay inside!

MzM

Leave a Reply

