Class

Since my son returned to school, I’ve been committed to working with my daughter on some key learning initiatives.  She’s only three and won’t officially start school (kindergarten) until Fall 2014 but I want her to be well prepared.  When I was working she attended a daycare school and they were instrumental in helping her learn her ABC’s, books of the Bible, numbers, shapes and days of the week.  I want to keep that momentum going.  We went to the dollar store and bought $20 worth of stuff to make a “classroom” in a corner of her bedroom.  We had “class” today and I although I don’t think I could EVER be a teacher (my patience is very short) I really enjoy working with her and seeing the light bulb go off as she makes the connection and really understands what I’m talking about.  I’m not sure how much longer I’ll be able to keep it up (she may end up in day school a couple of days) but as long as I’m home with her, I feel like it is my duty to help her learn as much as she can.

Leave a Reply

