Fishy

I cooked a family staple tonight- salmon.  I thought about preparing blackened salmon but in the end I played it safe and just broiled it with lemon pepper like I always do.  I don’t know if I tend to stay in the safe zone for myself or because I don’t want to rock the boat for my family.  But I’m feeling a little rebellious these days and I plan on stepping even further outside of my box! To paraphrase a famous quote- “boats are safe in the harbor. . .but that’s not what boats are for. . .besides to catch big fish you’ve gotta get out of shallow waters.”

This just in. . .oops, I intended to add the “recipe” but forgot on the original post.  My bad.  It’s not really a recipe so much as instructions:

  • First turn the broiler all the way on high (I should mention I have a gas stove so I am accustomed to cooking directly under the fire)
  • Then start with 2 to 4 decent size salmon fillets (or more)
  • Place them skin down on a foil lined broiling pan that has been drizzled with olive oil
  • Sprinkle generously with lemon-pepper seasoning and garlic salt (my preferences are McCormick’s Lemon Pepper and Lawry’s Garlic Salt)
  • Let the salmon cook directly under the fire on one side for approximately 12 minutes
  • Remove and turn over to remove the skin (it is VERY hot but should come off very easy)
  • Sprinkle the undercooked side with lemon-pepper seasoning and garlic salt
  • Return to oven to cook the undercooked side for approximately 10 minutes
  • Remove from oven and squeeze a little fresh lemon over each filet

We usually have fresh sauteed spinach or green beans and baked potatoes as a compliment.  Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

