Lessons

Since I became a stay at home Mom, I’ve learned a lot of things about myself:

1. I don’t miss work.  At all.  I thought I’d go through some sort of withdrawal since I have been working since I was 16. . .it just seems like such a part of my identity.  But I am loving this reinvention!

2. I don’t have a problem getting up in the morning to do things I’m passionate about.  Before- waking up to go to work was total torture.  But now I jump out of bed excited to start my day and work on things that feed my spirit!

3.  My husband is awesome.  I’ve always adored him but his support of me being at home has been phenomenal!  I thought after the summer he’d be giving me the side eye and telling me to check out the posts on Careerbuilder but he realizes me being at home has made our entire household function much better!  He’s actually hinted at me staying at home until my daughter starts school.  I don’t know about that. . .unless my ventures have just taken off really well.  I actually want to return to work at some point before my skills become dated. . .but I don’t see that happening anytime soon.

4. There is still never enough time in the day!  I thought I would get all these extra hours awarded to me since I wasn’t working but my days are still filled to the max and I have to admit I struggle with being organized and maximum my time. But it’s not a stressful thing at all, just wishing I could do more!

In short, I am thoroughly enjoying this time and I do not have ONE SINGLE SOLITARY regret!  I’m hoping to gain momentum with my creative projects and maybe this time next year I’ll have a successful business or maybe I’ll be back in Corporate America.  Who knows?  But right now I feel so blessed to be on this journey!

2 comments

  1. I totally get this! I have been home exactly 3 years now as a SAHM. I left work to start a business and I don’t miss that kind of work at all. It took me awhile to fall comfortably into my role but now that I am here I pray that God continues to make a way so that I can stay home with my children and pursue my personal goals of entrepreneurship.

    1. Hi Mimi,
      Thanks for sharing! Seems like you and I are of the same mindset! I wish you much success in all your endeavors and it is truly a blessing to be able to be there for these precious moments with our children!

Leave a Reply

