Retrospect

It’s really strange how you can look back and recall a time or event with such fondness but when you were actually in that moment it didn’t seem all that great.  I think a lot of time is spent wishing for the future or wishing for the past instead of truly living in the present.  We should really try to make the most of these precious moments we are given because we can NEVER recapture them.

Take a look at this:

I was probably around 21 on this picture.  I don’t remember ever being THAT small. Seriously.  I have been dieting, exercising or watching my weight in some form my entire adult life.  I was probably exercising like a maniac back then.  But it’s funny (funny sad not funny ha-ha) that my impression of myself was still that I somehow “needed improvement.”  I am just now getting to the point- 20 years later- where I can look in the mirror and truly accept myself for who I am, flaws and all.  And I’m not just talking physically but everything that makes me who I am. . .of course that is not to say there isn’t always room for improvement- I mean I really need to stop cursing all the damn time.  But I am loving myself more and more each day and instead of focusing so much on what’s wrong with me or my life, I’m all about everything that’s right!  Because right now, in this moment is feels sooooooooo good to be ME!

Leave a Reply

