Tostada's

I wouldn’t describe myself as a “foodie” but I do like good food and I have been known to cook a decent meal or two.  I haven’t done many recipes or cooking posts but this week I thought I’d share a few kid friendly meals that my kids love.  Up first, tostada’s, this was on the menu last night. We live in Texas, so we could eat Tex-Mex every night!

Before we begin, can we just take a minute to gaze at this beautiful and amazing avocado?  Perfectly ripe avocados make me a giddy:

Perfection.

Here are the ingredients:

1 lb. ground meat

2 cups of shredded Mexican blend cheese

corn tostadas

1 pkg taco seasoning

1 ripe avocado

shredded lettuce

salsa or picante sauce

1 can refried beans (my kids do not eat refried beans so we skipped this ingredient)

First, brown the ground meat in a skillet (is that just what we call it in the South?) and then strain the grease. You can use the same type of  colander that you use to strain spaghetti.  I wipe out my skillet with a paper towel to get rid of excess grease before adding the strained meat back in.  Then sprinkle the taco seasoning evenly over the meat and add 3/4 cup of water (be sure you check your seasoning package for exact measurement) mix well and then bring to a boil.  Once the meat is mixed you can turn off the fire and start to assemble the tostadas.

Turn on your stove’s broiler to or you can use your microwave to melt the cheese.  I like the extra crunch placing it under the broiler adds. If you like refried beans you want to start with a layer of prepared refried beans.  Spread evenly over the tostada, then add about 3 tablespoons of ground meat, sprinkle a couple of tablespoons of cheese and then place under the broiler (or in the microwave) for about 45 seconds.  Just long enough to melt the cheese.

Add the shredded lettuce, slices of avocado and a spoonful of salsa/picante sauce. And then DEVOUR!  My kids absolutely love these!  Sometimes I serve a side of veggies like corn or green beans but the tostada actually covers all of the food groups!  Enjoy!

I brought the small tostadas by mistake and ended up eating way more than I intended! I would get them a little bit bigger than pictured here unless you have toddlers.

Leave a Reply

