Meeting

*peeks in* Anyone still here? 

In a couple of weeks I will be celebrating my 10 year wedding anniversary.  So today I decided to share the story about how I met my husband.

The year was 2000 although he swears it was 1999.  It was November of 2000 to be exact. It was one of the reasons I selected November two years later to get married after he proposed.  Because it was a special month to me but I guess I’m just a bit more sentimental than my husband.

Anyway, 2000 was a year of transition for me.  I turned 30.  I FINALLY ended an off and on toxic relationship that had been going on for most of my twenties.  I traveled overseas for the first time to London by myself to meet a friend on the other side. And I had finally started to truly love myself, flaws and all.

Then comes this: “Hey, I have a friend I want you to meet.”  It was a comment made by a good friend who was part of a clique I hung out with at nightclubs and other parties and gatherings. His comment wasn’t just something casual.  It held another meaning.  He was trying to hook me up. I had met most of his friends and most of them were really cool guys but definitely not my type.

I politely said hell no declined and went on about my business. I was not really at a place where I was trying to meet anyone.  I was enjoying life and being single.  And then I was blindsided.

The same friend got my sister involved.  She talked to his friend over the phone and after one conversation was convinced I needed to give this guy a chance.  Again, I said hell no declined. But at my sister’s insistence, I finally caved.  I should mention that my sister is suspicious of EVERYONE, so for her to think I should talk this guy really intrigued me. So, I told my friend to give his friend my phone number.  Very high schoolish, right?

I remember one evening right before I was about to go bed the phone rang and a company name showed up on my caller ID.  I frowned because anybody who really knew me, knew not to call me that late- I used to be serious about my sleep!  And two because I thought it was too late for a telemarketer to be calling me.  I still do not know what compelled me to pick up the phone.  But I did. And the man who would become my future husband was on the other line.  I can’t tell you what we talked about because I honestly don’t remember but I do remember the call lasted almost two hours.

We met for dinner a couple of days later and have been joined at the hip ever since.  The lesson here? Sometimes when you annoy someone just enough, they will give in and perhaps end up meeting the love of their life. LOL!

No seriously, I don’t know if there is a lesson here really other than I had people who knew me really well and knew my husband well and it was their instinct that matched us.  My husband is everything I never knew I wanted or needed. And I am extremely grateful my friend and my sister continued to annoy encourage me to give him (and love) a chance!  I read a quote the other day that seems appropriate:

Sometimes what you’re looking for comes when you’re not looking.

Six months after that first meeting. . .

Leave a Reply

