Traditions

There are 18 days left until Christmas and the holiday traditions are in full swing.  One of the first traditions we do to kick off the  season is to purchase Christmas ornaments for the kids that reflect their favorite shows or characters from that year.  We have Bumblebee (Transformers) and Dora both adorning our tree as well as Princess Tiana and Phineas & Ferb.  One day in the not so distant future,  I will give the ornaments to my children to decorate the first Christmas tree in their own home.

Other traditions include baking cookies, holiday crafts, celebrating Christmas Eve with our family and playing a rowdy game of Taboo.

But this year, we added a new tradition- Elf on the Shelf. If you’re not familiar with Elf on the Shelf.  Let me enlighten you: you purchase an elf that your children “adopt” and you give them a name and sign up online, so that Santa knows which one of his scout elves is with your family.  The elf watches over the kids making silent notes of who is good and bad and every night (after the kids go to bed) he leaves and goes off to report his findings to Santa.  But every morning he returns and he is always in a different place, so the kids have to search for him.  After Christmas is over, they blow him a kiss- because rule number one is THEY CANNOT TOUCH THE ELF- they blow him a kiss and he leaves and returns to the North Pole with Santa and doesn’t come back to see the kids until next year.

traditions1

YEAH. ::giving myself the side eye::

This is a really big thing at my son’s school this year.  So we “adopted” an elf, Jingles.  Let the Christmas Magic begin! The things we do for these kids. . .LOL!

What are some of your holiday traditions?

6 comments

  1. I work at a Westin Hotel and we are going to do Elf on the Shelf

  2. We have Elf on the Shelf too! We started Monday. Our elf Max is up on my blog today with pictures from the first days at home. This is our first year doing it as well.

    1. I left you a comment. . .stop making me look bad! LOL! I really have to get on my game! I like the Pinterest board you shared. I’m head there now! Thanks!

  3. We are doing Elf on the Shelf this year for the first time as well. Our Elf, Max made his appearance Monday. I posted some pics on my blog from his first week in our home. I’m sure your kids will enjoy it! My daughters do!

  4. I don’t know who’s having more fun with Elf! This is our first year, and he’s proven to be such a handful — that little devil. How we’re going to top this year’s antics, I don’t know.

    1. I’ve been so boring…my son asked me why his elf doesn’t do “cool stuff” like pour cereal on the counter or hang from the chandelier. O.o I told him he was trying to set a good example! Lol!

Leave a Reply

