Shenanigans

I think I’ve been having Elf envy lately as I search Pinterest and read blogs and talk to other mothers whose elves are “doing” all these creative things.  Meanwhile, my son asked me one day why his Elf never did anything “interesting” like. . . make a mess.  Exsqueeze me?  That’s considered interesting?  Who is going to clean up said mess?!  I told him the Elf was setting a good example. I know, I’m lame.  I’m really kind of over the whole thing and I know this is bad but I kinda hope next year he is too. . .I’m not trying to destroy his innocence but surely there is something else we can do that doesn’t involve a creepy little Elf “teleporting” (this is what my son told me) back and forth to the North Pole every night.  TOO MUCH WORK! Maybe we can do an advent calendar instead. . .

Anyway, here is what our Elf has been up to:

Probably the closest he'll ever get to a sleigh or reindeer!

Probably the closest he’ll ever get to a sleigh or reindeer!

We saw Buddy the Elf eating cotton balls in the movie and apparently so did someone else. . .

We saw Buddy the Elf eating cotton balls in the movie and apparently so did someone else. . .

Construction paper chains. . .aw, I did this as a kid too! They kinda look like handcuffs. . .hmmm

Construction paper chains. . .aw, I did this as a kid too! They kinda look like handcuffs. . .hmmm

Words with Elves.  Coming to the App Store!

Words with Elves. Coming to the App Store!

Do you have an Elf on the Shelf?  What has he/she been up to?  Leave your blog/web address in the comments, so I can stop by and take a look!

signature

5 comments

  1. I think your elf is doing great! 🙂

    1. Thanks! I’m trying!! 🙂 I think a big part of my issue is I’m really busy right now and it’s always an afterthought. 😦

  2. Ha! This elf is really creepy but it looks totally fun! I literally laughed out loud at all of the things your elf has been doing. I think you’re doing great as well!

    http://thriftyandshameless.blogspot.com

  3. LMAO at Elf setting a good example. That is hilarious. I actually just heard of this “Elf on the Shelf” thing this year, so we didn’t do it. I will likely do it next year tho. I also love your elf in “handcuffs.” Hehe

    1. I think it is something cool for the kids to experience but I really don’t know why/how people do it every year. . .I know it’s only once a year by still! Sheesh! I’ve had so much anxiety about that Elf every since he was “adopted”! LOL! At least you know what to expect and have plenty of time to prepare. I think it will work out great for you!

Leave a Reply

