Innocence

guardian

A few weeks ago we took the kids to see Rise of the Guardians.  The movie features Santa, the Easter Bunny, the Tooth Fairy, Sandman and Jack Frost as guardians who protect the innocence of children.  The caveat is that children have to believe in them for them to stay around.  They battle their nemesis, the Bogeyman who wants to turn everything dark and keep children paralyzed with fear, so they only believe in him.

I absolutely loved this movie!  I even loved the TATS on Santa’s forearms.  One said, “Naughty” and the other “Nice”.  All of the characters were a little badass but not over the top. . . they were just very passionate about protecting children.  This movie  got me to thinking about the day when my son (he’s 8) stops believing in Santa 😦  I know I realistically only have a couple of years left before we have to tell him the truth.   So, this is my story and I’m sticking to it:

Santa is real. But he is only real to those who believe in him.  Also, the secret to how he is able to deliver so many toys to boys and girls is because after you turn (insert the age he finds out here) your parents start buying your gifts so he can take you off his list.

And this story won’t change until he has kids of his own.  I don’t want him to be naive or gullible but damn these kids grow up so fast with all the stuff they are exposed to directly and indirectly every day!  If this buys me a couple of more years to protect his innocence then so be it!  Besides, I also have a 3 year old, which means we have to keep Santa real for a little while longer.

Do your kids still believe in Santa?  If not, how old were they when they found out?

3 comments

  1. I love this explanation! I didn’t have Christmas growing up, so I want my kids to believe in the magic of the season for as long as possible. I really see the relation of donating toys each year in preparation to “giving” Santa to younger kids.
    How though, would you do this w/older & younger kids I wonder?

    1. Hi Rachel! The only other thing I thought about was just sharing the story of St. Nicholas who was a REAL person 😉

      http://www.stnicholascenter.org/pages/who-is-st-nicholas/

  2. I love your explanation. My parents never really told me the truth, I just sort of figured it out on my own. My kids believe in Santa but they also know that I get the gifts as well. As confusing as that sounds, it works for them.

Leave a Reply

