One More Chance

Biggie give me one more chance, Biggie Biggie give me one more chance. Sorry, I couldn’t resist!

Happy New Year!!!! No, this post is NOT about the late Notorious One but instead a post about a new year and another chance to get it right. As we begin a new year many people are resolving to change bad behavior or just form new habits. It’s quite understandable and even commendable. We all need something to aspire to, it gives us hope! A new year means a chance for a do-over from the previous year or a chance to finally do something we’ve always wanted to do.

Whatever the case, I salute everyone committed to being better than they were yesterday and striving to do more with the life they’ve been given. As for me, I’m  focused on three simple principles: Give. Take. Focus.


newyears11
1. Give more of myself, my time and my knowledge.

I am not a selfish person however I have very selfish tendencies. I tend to stick to what I know and who I know. Not moving too far outside my box. But I did more and exposed myself to more opportunities in 2012 and I want to continue that behavior on an even larger scale. I’m blessed and I want to share more of those blessings.
newyears2

2. Take better care of myself, my family and my community.

I need to be more active and watch what I eat. Period. I’m getting older. Certain ailments run in my family and I need to be healthy and a fully functional parent to my two young kids. I need to engage more with my family and make sure I’m instilling lessons I want my children to learn from me (and not their friends or strangers). I need to make more time to reconnect with my husband on a regular basis. I  need to be more vocal in what happens in my community by attending HOA meetings, writing my representatives about pertinent issues and  participating in more events that help uplift the community.

newyears3

3.  Focus on what’s important, what’s good and what matters.

I worry about stuff that really at the end of the day is totally inconsequential in the big picture of my life. It’s stressful and runs up my pressure! I will relax and release things that don’t serve a purpose in my life. I will work more on my creative endeavors because they feed my soul and make me happy, which makes me feel my best!  What matters is spending as much quality time as I can with those I  love and leaving a legacy that will last long after I’m gone.

I know these are pretty broad and ambitious goals but I feel if I can do these three things, everything else in my life will fall into place and I will be on the path that God has intended for me. I will continue to share my journey as a wife, mom and phenomenal woman throughout the year! I wish you all the best and I hope 2013 is a breakthrough year for you as well!

signature

9 comments

  1. Give, Take, Focus, I like that. Might be my mantra for the new year!

    1. I hope it helps you get reach whatever personal goals you’ve set! Wishing you all the best for 2013!

  2. I definitely need to focus more on #2. As a mother, I’m so busy taking care of others and making sure that their needs are met that I forget all about my own. I’ve made the effort to spend a little more time on me, and I will continue to do more of it in 2013.

    1. I hear you! I think when we become moms a switch in our brain flips that takes the focus off of us and puts it all on our kids. But the only way we can really be a good mother is to feel good inside and out, which means taking care of ourselves! Good luck to you in making YOU a priority in 2013!!

  3. I LOVE this. I definitely agree with you on the selfish tendencies! We are the same in that aspect! Good luck on accomplishing your goals! Happy New Year!

    1. Happy New Year Britton! I’m looking forward to all 2013 has in store! I’m putting my self imposed box in the closet! LOL!

  4. Love it – Happy New Year!

  5. bymochachic · · Reply

    Great theme for the year! I love it…I was thinking that I needed to simplify my theme for this new year as well. Thank you for the inspiration. Good luck in the new year and look forward to reading more about your journey.

    1. Thanks! I’m glad you were inspired and I wish you the best of luck as well! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

