Playing In My Own Backyard

Sunday my husband and I were watching CNN, correction my husband was watching CNN because he apparently has some kind of addiction to the channel or an attachment to Wolf Blitzer that I don’t know about.  Anyway, CNN was on the television and there was a segment about travel.  The New York Times compiled a list of the top places to travel in 2013.  The guy doing the segment was interviewing someone from the New York Times about how they selected the destinations and there were three destinations that he was shocked to see on the list. . .HOUSTON, TX was one of them.  I live in Houston and I was shocked too.

I LOVE living in Houston for a variety of reasons including the diversity and the laid back pace.  But I would have NEVER, ever suggested it as a top travel destination. Like ever.

midtown-houston

But when the guy at the Times started giving the reasons Houston made the list (the only U.S. city in the top ten by the way) I found myself questioning just how well I know the city I’ve called home for over four decades.  I have traveled to a lot of places:  Japan, Rome, Paris, London, Hawaii, New York, Canada, Bahamas, Jamaica, Los Angeles, etc. And I really enjoy getting away and seeing historic sites and beautiful landscapes but at the end of the trip I cannot wait to get home!  That obviously says a lot about H-Town.

Since hearing Houston made the list, I’ve been committed to getting to know my city better.  There are a lot of places in this sprawling city (627.5 square miles) that I have never been.  So over the next few weeks I will be compiling a list of places to visit in my city and my family and I will go about the business of playing in our own backyard.

Houston may not have a football team still in the playoffs but according to the New York Times:

Houston is probably best known as the Texan center for energy and industry, but it’s making a bid to be the state’s cultural and culinary capital as well. The Houston Museum District  is a formidable coterie of institutions that includes the Rothko Chapel, the Museum of African American Culture, which made its debut last February; and the Asia Society Texas Center, which opened in a stunning Yoshio Taniguchi-designed building in April. And last summer, the Houston Museum of Natural Science opened a 30,000-square-foot hall of paleontology in a new $85 million wing. Meanwhile, the city’s dining scene is also heating up, with three of the city’s newest restaurants — Oxheart, Underbelly and Uchi — placing on national best-new-restaurant lists. — Ingrid K. Williams

htowncollage

Wow. We sound so fancy. LOL! I can’t wait to try new restaurants and take in some of the cultural events. I’ll be documenting my journey through the city.  Maybe it might encourage y’all to come on down and visit!

See the entire top travel destinations for 2013 HERE.

3 comments

  1. Did you know Houston has the second largest theater district behind New York?

  2. ^^I recently read that and was too excited. I love musicals, music, theater, etc, so this was right up my alley. I’m so glad that you wrote this post because I’ve been making plans to relocate to Houston in June/July. I will definitely be following this series.

    1. You’re going to love living here. . .well, maybe except in the summer. LOL! Let me know if you need any tips!

Leave a Reply

