Sk8ter Girl

sk8tergirl

Saturday I took my son to a birthday party at a skating rink. Skating rink. (Some regions of the country may refer to it as a roller rink.) Those two words pretty much represent my childhood.

Back in the day, roller skating was MY thing. I asked Santa for a pair of skates every year. One of my fondest childhood memories was winning a huge pair of purple pom-poms for my skates because I came in first in a skating race!

Saturday when I stepped on the rink for the first time in over a decade (or two) I was a little shaky but you know what? I’ve still got it! I skated around and around (totally impressing my son) until I was tired and sweaty. I bopped along to the EXACT 80’s songs they played when I was a kid. And when I would take an occasional break, I felt a bit melancholy obviously, but at the same time I felt HAPPY. Almost giddy because even though in reality a few decades have passed since I was that kid in roller skates at the skating rink every weekend, she’s still there inside of me. Fun and fearless. Confident and carefree. I’d lost touch with her over the years but it felt so good to reconnect with her.

get-attachment

As adults we end up letting our responsibilities and commitments define who we are but sometimes it might not be a bad idea to take a break and remember when life was simpler. Remember when you felt like you had the world at your fingertips instead of on your shoulders. Take a break and let your inner child come out to play. After all you have the rest of your life to be an adult!

signature

7 comments

  1. I absolutely LOVE roller skating! Always takes you back! Looks like you had fun!

    xo, Kenya

    1. It was a blast!! And I was majorly excited that I wasn’t in any major pain the next day! LOL!

  2. Aaaaaah! I LOVE skating and yes, it brings back sooo many memories! We used to go EVERY Saturday! Our rink used to play hokey pokey, limbo, and of course the races. I had a white pair with pink pom-poms!

    1. They played the hokey pokey! And of course I was right out there in the middle of it! I told my husband we need to take the kids every now and then while we can. . .I’m sure it won’t be long before roller rinks are a total thing of the past 😦

  3. I love this post! It’s good to be silly, laughter is the best medicine!

    A few moms in my area do roller derby!

    1. Roller derby? Ooh, I don’t know about that it seems way to “competitive” for me! LOL! I like the idea of creating my own pace and sitting down when I feel like it!

      1. haha! I totally understand what you mean!

        For some reason Roller Derby is calling my name though! Maybe I need an outlet to be “competitive” 🙂

Leave a Reply

