Reflections of Me

reflections

As a stay at home mom, I have moments of complete hysteria when my patience wears thin or I feel overwhelmed. I’ll yell and literally stomp my feet when things are just not going the way I want and I’ve had to repeat myself one too many times.

Then when I see my daughter do the exact same thing, I pretend to be shocked.

My husband shakes his head and says, “That’s you.”

He’s right and I tell her that’s not nice behavior and I try to be calmer and more patient and set a better example.  But depending on the day, I sometimes find myself reverting right back to my old ways.

I wish I could be ashamed but I’m not.  Because when I get compliments on how well-behaved my children are or when they are being polite and caring, I know those are also reflections of me.

I do want my daughter to learn to communicate her frustrations differently but she’s fiery and passionate like her Mama and sometimes we react before we process.  We’re both works in progress. . .I should be a lot further along on my journey but I’m not.
She’s definitely helping me get there.

We have a new thing we do when one of us is about to spiral out of control- the other says, “Calm down.” And we close our eyes and take a deep breath.  Most of the time it works. . .and when it doesn’t you just let the meltdown run its course.

And the next day you start over and try to be better than you were the day before.  I’m sure we’ll get it right one day.  Until then. . .I ask her all the time, “What am I going to do with you?!”

Her response: “Just love me, mama.”

And I do with all my heart!

signature

 

5 comments

  1. Hey!:) I nominated you for the “Very Inspiring Blogger Award”. Your blog has just been such an emotional and great read and I think you really deserve it! Here’s the link http://addieshutup.wordpress.com/2013/02/20/very-inspiring-blogger-award/ and happy blogging

    1. Wow! Thanks so much!!! I need to get busy finding 15 bloggers!:-))) How fun!

      1. No problem! Hope you have as much fun as I did! 🙂

Leave a Reply

