Movie Buff

I don’t know if I would consider myself an expert on movies. . .I mean, I’ve usually never even heard of the films nominated for Academy Awards but neither have most people, so I guess that’s not a good example.  However my family has quite an eclectic movie collection, many I have watched more than once and they never get old!  We’ve got everything from The Five Heartbeats to TwilightTransformers 1, 2, AND 3 on the same shelf with Mr. & Mrs. Smith.  We don’t limit our selections to any particular genre typically we go for more family friendly options like Brave but when the hubby and I want to watch Bad Boys or Pulp Fiction, we do so after we put the kids to bed.

movies

I personally like movies that are entertaining and that are as far away from reality as possible.  I like movies that keep me paying attention and on the edge of my seat and that make me laugh out loud or cover my eyes and clench my husband’s hand.  I am probably the only woman you’ll meet who is NOT really a big fan of chick flicks.  I have THREE that I will always love,  the original Steel Magnolias, Bridges of Madison County and Beaches.  But that’s it.  I don’t like sappy, predictable movies.  Not that all chick flicks are like that- okay, yes they are. . .I kid! Lol!  There is nothing wrong with chick flicks.  I just think a big part of my anti-chick flick feelings stem from the fact that I’d much rather prefer to read (and occasionally write) in that genre but those type of movies just don’t float my boat.  Bizarre, I know.

But when I go to the movies or settle down on the couch with a big bowl of popcorn I want to be transported away from anything my mind might be able to conceive.  The fave movies in my collection: (in no particular order)

  •  Transformers 2 (Revenge of the Fallen)–  Hands down the special effects in this movie (all three actually) is the only franchise I think that rivals Star Wars when it comes to special effects.  It REALLY looks like the Autobots and Decepticons transform from vehicles to robots.  Every little detail is considered and I’m just always amazed and impressed.  I also love the fast paced action and cheeky dialogue.  However as much as I love the Transformers movies, enough is enough.  I think the rest of their story should be left to our imagination.
  • Suicide Kings– Two words. Christopher Walken.  I love this guy in just about every movie I’ve ever seen him in.  He’s enigmatic and I think quite underrated. The plot is pretty cool and even though it’s been done on some levels before (kidnapping a mafia kingpin) you’re still shocked by the ending (or at least I was).  I also love Denis Leary as the mafia henchman in this movie.
  • The Usual Suspects Keyser Soze!!  Yes!! Kevin Spacey was brilliant in this movie.  It starts off when they round up the usual suspects (of the criminal variety) for a line up to see if they can solve a crime.  This movie was full of twists and turns and to this day I watch the movie, I still never find the moment where you could have predicted the outcome.
  • The Five Heartbeats– This movie could have been based on the story of the hit Motown singing group, The Temptations.  But instead it is from the genius mind of Robert Townsend.  The characters in this movie, namely  EDDIE KING, JR. are iconic.  And you walk away feeling like the story was real and that the Five Heartbeats were a real group.  They did an excellent job of following the group through their entire journey and keeping your attention.
  • Four Brothers– I loved the plot of this movie.  Four adopted brothers, who haven’t seen each other in years are reunited at the funeral of their “mother”.  Turns out she was murdered and they plan on getting revenge!  It was also very clever casting in this movie.  Would you have ever imagined Mark Wahlberg, Tyrese, Garrett Hedlund and Andre Benjamin being brothers?

I could go on!  But I’ll spare you. . .  🙂 What are some of your favorite movies?

signature

7 comments

  1. I like Lion King lol. We don’t have many dvds anymore we traded most of ours in when blockbuster was still around. I have not watched an actual dvd in quite some time though now that you have reminded me let me go see whats in my collection.

    1. I like the Lion King too! LOL! I watched a lot more TV before I had kids (obviously) but we do try to have a family movie night a few Friday’s each month we either watch a DVD from the collection or rent one from the Red Box!

  2. I love your picks for movies! I’m not sure what I was expecting, but not those movies haha. As soon as my husband and I hear the nominees we try to watch those nominated for best picture. It’s hard because not all of those selected played at the local cinema. (I am a tad ashamed sometimes I borrow them off the internet, but most movies are watched at the theatre).

    Hmmm favourite movies, so hard to decide!

    1. I know it was hard for me to decided too hence the lengthy list! LOL. It’s been a while since I’ve actually gone to a movie theater. We get them from the Redbox (do they have those in Canada? It’s a vending machine type system where you rent movies for $1.50 and the movie is dispensed and afterwards you return it to any Redbox. They are usually free standing machines outside of the gas station or drug store. Genius!. I also play catch up and watch films and tv shows on my Kindle Fire.

  3. I’m all about the sci-fi! Loved the first Matrix

    1. YES! I loved the Matrix too! I think it set the standard for a lot of films that followed with the slow motion fight scenes.

Leave a Reply

